Showing posts with label Temple. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Temple. Show all posts

19 Feb 2017

EDO - Gofunai temples 26 and 27



[ . BACK to DARUMA MUSEUM TOP . ]
. Gofunai 御府内八十八ヶ所霊場 88 Henro Temples in Edo .
::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::

Nr. 26 - Raifukuji 来福寺 Raifuku-Ji

- 宝林山 Horinzan 地蔵院 Jizo-In 来福寺 Raifuku-Ji
品川区東大井3-13-1 / 3 Chome-13-1 Higashiōi, Shinagawa ward
Shingon Sect : 智山派


来福寺大師堂 Daishi Do Hall

This temple was founded in 990 by priest 智弁阿闍梨 (智瓣) Chiben Ajari.
The main statue is 延命地蔵 Enmei Jizo (経読地蔵 Kyoyomi Jizo), carved by Kobo Daishi.
Related to the shrine 梶原稲荷神社 Kajiwara Inari Jinja .

This Jizo statue had been venerated by 鎌倉権五郎景政 Kamakura Gongoro Kagemasa.

In 1501, a statue of Kyoyomi Jizo, "Jizo reading Sutras", was brought here from the 納経塚 Nokyozuka Mound.

Related to
梶原景季 Kajiwara Kagesue: 梶原塚 Kajiwara-zuka mound, 梶原の松 Kajiwara pine in the compound.
And life-extension cherry tree 延命櫻 in the compound.

The main hall has been reconstructed in 1952.

- quote -
Raifukuji
Hidden in the middle of a quiet residential area just off the Daiichi-Keihin highway in Oimachi, this temple belongs to the Shingon sect of Buddhism and is an eerily quiet oasis found at the end of a beautiful stone path.

The temple's origins
reach back into the 10th century, but the current, rather modern buildings are all built in the postwar era. In addition to the small but lush garden inside the gates, the highlight here is the monument to the indigo dealers of Awa Province (today's Tokushima Prefecture), who plied their trade in Edo from the early 17th century to the Meiji Restoration, keeping the capital's inhabitants stocked up on this blue dye that's still one of Tokushima's most famous exports.
- source : timeout.com/tokyo/museums/raifukuji -

Graves of the Indigo dealers 阿波藍商人墓標群



.......................................................................


Edo Meisho Zue


玉川八十八ヶ所霊場 Nr. 74 of the Tamagawa Henro Pilgrimage
東海三十三観音霊場 Nr. 2 of the Tokai Pilgrimage to 33 Kannon Temples

.......................................................................

- ご詠歌 - chant of the temple 金剛頂寺 Kongocho-Ji in Shikoku :
往生に望みをかくる極楽は 月のかたむく西寺の空
Ōjō ni nozomi o kakuru gokuraku wa tsuki no katamuku Nishidera no sora


.......................................................................

- 朱印 - stamp of the temple :


- Homepage of the temple
- source : tesshow.jp/shinagawa


. Introduction of 延命地蔵 "Jizo for a long life" .

.......................................................................



..............................................................................................................................................

- - - - - #edohistory - - - - -

. Kamakura Gongorō Kagemasa 鎌倉権五郎景政 .
(1069 - ?)

.......................................................................

- quote -
Kajiwara Kagesue 梶原景季 / 梶原景時 Kagetoki
(1162 - February 6, 1200),
was a samurai in service to the Minamoto clan during the Genpei War of Japan's late Heian period.
The Heike monogatari records an anecdote about a friendly competition with Sasaki Takatsuna prior to the second battle of Uji. Mounted on Yoritomo's black horse, Surusumi, he races Takatsuna across the River Uji.


Kajiwara Kagesue, Sasaki Takatsuna, and Hatakeyama Shigetada racing to cross the Uji River before the second battle of Uji,
by Utagawa Kuniyoshi.

Kagesue met death in Suruga at the hands of men loyal to Minamoto no Yoriie.
- - - More in the WIKIPEDIA !


梶原稲荷神社 Kajiwara Inari Shrine
relocated here in 1320.


- source and more photos : gogohiderin.blog.fc2.com -

A legend from Nagano 草津町, Kusatsu village
where Kagesue wrote a 狂歌 Kyoka poem about 源頼朝 Minamoto no Yoritomo at Mount Asama, who got stuck there in strong rain:
「昨日こそ浅間はふらめ今日は又みはらし玉へ白雨の神」
After that, it soon stopped raining.


Kajiwara Kagetoki 梶原景時 (?1140 ( ?1162) - 1200)
In the village of 八王子村 Hachioji there is a pine named Kajiwara sugi 梶原杉 Kajiwara Pine.
It grew from a walking staff of Kagetoki, who had cut it out at Shrine 鎌倉八幡 Kamakura Hachimangu and planted it in the compound of this village.
The remains are venerated to our day:



- quote -
Kajiwara Kagetoki (梶原 景時, c.1162 – February 6, 1200)
was a spy for Minamoto no Yoritomo in the Genpei War, and a warrior against the Taira. He came to be known for his greed and treachery.
"A prominent eastern warrior", he supplied Yoshitsune with a number of ships after the Battle of Yashima.
Originally from Suruga province,
Kajiwara entered the Genpei War fighting under Oba Kagechika, against the Minamoto.



After the Taira victory at Ishibashiyama in 1181, he was sent to pursue the fleeing Minamoto no Yoritomo. Having discovered him, Kajiwara switched sides, leading his forces in another direction, and turning to Yoritomo's cause.
Three years later,
Kajiwara would lead the forces of Minamoto no Yoshitsune and Yoritomo into battle against their cousin Yoshinaka, and against the Taira.
Attached to Yoshitsune's force,
Kajiwara reported back to Yoritomo on Yoshitsune's actions, in order to satisfy Yoritomo's suspicion and distrust of his brother. In one particular episode related in The Tale of the Heike, Kajiwara suggests, during the Battle of Yashima, that Yoshitsune equip the Minamoto ships with "reverse oars" should they need to retreat quickly. Yoshitsune responds with distaste to Kajiwara's advice, humiliating him by saying such an act would be cowardice. From that point until Yoritomo's death, the resentful Kajiwara did as much as he could to raise tensions between the brothers. His slander led Yoritomo, already suspicious of his younger brother, to eventually accuse Yoshitsune of plotting against the bakufu, which then led to his exile and eventual death.
Even after this,
when the shogunate was successfully and firmly established, Kajiwara still caused tensions at court. He accused Yuki Tomomitsu of plotting against the Shogun Minamoto no Yoriie; a number of members of the court tried to get rid of him, who eventually left for Suruga. The following year (1200), he was defeated and killed in battle along with his son Kagesue.
Kajiwara Heima, a senior retainer of the Aizu domain in the 19th century, claimed descent from Kagetoki. His formal name, Kagetake (景武) shares a character with Kagetoki's name.
- - - More in the WIKIPEDIA !

..............................................................................................................................................

kyooyomi Jizoo 経読地蔵 Kyoyomi Jizo Bosatsu reciting Sutras

There are some legends in various temples.

Kamakura 宝戒寺 Hokai-Ji


子育経読地蔵
Made in 1366 by 三条法印憲円 Sanjo Hoin Kenen. 90 cm high.
Once a woman broke down crying in front of Temple Hokai-Ji, ready to give birth.
A friendly priest came out and helped her. This must have been Jizo Bosatsu himself, people who heared her tell the story thought.
From that time on, many people at night heared a voice coming from the Jizo Statue, reading the sutras.

- reference source : www8.plala.or.jp/bosatsu -

.......................................................................

Suruga 国分寺 Kokubun-Ji



Near a water basin where Tokugawa Ieyasu used to wash his hands, there was a voide every night reciting the sutras.
That was very strange so one night, so when he peeked out, he saw a statue of Jizo by the basin, reciting the sutras.
He then had a hall build at 浅間神社 Asama Sengen Jinja to place the statue properly.
In the Meiji period it was replaced to its present location. Even then some people claim to have heared it recite the sutras.

- reference source : blog.goo.ne.jp/syuji -

.......................................................................

- reference : 経読地蔵 -

.......................................................................

shio Jizoo 鹽地蔵 "Salt Jizo" (see Nr. 27 below)

Kyoozenji 教善寺 Kyozen-Ji
港区六本木5-1-9 / 5 Chome-1-9 Roppongi, Minato ward
People come here and offer some 塩 salt with the wish to have their eye disease healed.

Genkakuji 源覚寺 Genkaku-Ji
文京区小石川2-23-14 / 2 Chome-23-14 Koishikawa, Bunkyō ward

......................................................................

shio Jizoo 塩地蔵 "Salt Jizo"

東京とその近郊の塩地蔵図鑑
- reference source : 石仏散歩 -

......................................................................

. Shioname Jizo 塩嘗地蔵 Salt-tasting Jizo in Kamakura .

. Jizō - Jizo Bosatsu 地蔵菩薩 - ABC List .



::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::


Nr. 27 - Shookooin 正光院 Shoko-In

- 瑠璃山 Rurizan 正光院 Shoko-In
港区元麻布3-2-20 / 3 Chome-2-20 Motoazabu, Minato ward
Shingon Sect : 真言宗



This temple was founded in 1630 by High Priest 法印宥専大和尚,
on behalf of 筑前福岡2代藩主 黒田忠之 Kuroda Tadayuki, second Daimyo of the Chikuzen Fukuoka Domain.
Tadayuki had called priest 宥専 from Mount Koyasan, where he had venerated the statue of Yakushi Nyorai, also named 里俗子安薬師 Rizoku Koyasu Yakushi.
The temple became the clan temple for the Kuroda family.

The main statue is 薬師如来 Yakushi Nyorai / 子安薬師 Koyasu Yakushi to protect children .
The statue was made by 恵心僧都 源信 Eshin Sozu Genshin in the middle Heian period, carved at the birth of 一条天皇 Ichijo Tenno (980 - 986) with the prayers for the baby to grow up healthy. This wooden statue was lost in WWII, the present statue is a gift from Mount Koyasan.

In the compound are also halls for 不動堂 Fudo Myo-O and 地蔵堂 Jizo Bosatsu.
The Fudo Hall is also known as 麻布大山不動.
The Jizo hall is also known as 子育鹽地蔵. (Salt Jizo)
The Jizo is a stone statue, originally placed at the shrine 霞山櫻田神社 Kazan Sakurada Jinja , which was in the compound of the temple.

. Azabu Fudozaka no Ichigan Fudo .

. Ichijō-tennō, Ichijoo Tennoo 一条天皇 Emperor Ichijo / Ichijyo .
(980 – 1011) - the 66th Emperor

.......................................................................

- ご詠歌 - chant of the temple 神峯寺 Konomine-Ji in Shikoku :
みほとけのめぐみの心神峯山も誓いも高き水音
Mihotoke no megumi no kokoro koonomine yama mo chikai mo takaki mizuoto


. 27 - 竹林山 Chikurinzan 地蔵院 Jizo-In 神峯寺 Konomine-Ji / Shikoku .

.......................................................................

- 朱印 - stamp of the temple :


- Homepage of the temple
- source : tesshow.jp/minato


. Introduction of Yakushi Nyorai .

.......................................................................



..............................................................................................................................................

- - - - - #edohistory - - - - -

. The Kuroda clan of Fukuoka .
Kuroda Kanbei Yoshitaka 黒田官兵衛 孝高 - (1546 - 1604)
His son, Kuroda Nagamasa 黒田長政 - (1586 - 1623)

..............................................................................................................................................

Sakuradajinja 櫻田神社 Shrine Sakurada Jinja

- quote -
One of the most interesting shrines found in Roppongi is the Sakurada Shrine. The shrine sits right within a standard busy street and can only be recognized by the large torii gate out front. Once you pass through the torii gate, it feels as though you have been transported out of the big city of Roppongi and deep into nature. The shrine is surrounded in luscious trees and greenery and is absolutely stunning.
The prize possession of the Sakurada Shrine
is their extremely large Ten-sui-oke 天水桶, a kind of basin for saving water from rain.

The Ten-sui-oke
at this shrine has existed for over 200 years. In Japanese, "ten" means the sky or heaven, "sui" means water, and "oke" means pail or box. When we visited the Sakurada Shrine, we were taught by one of the priests that rain is a present from the kami (Shinto deities) of the sky. This is believed because the houses from this time period were only made out of wood, and therefore house fires were very common. The Japanese believed that the rain was given to them by the kami so that they had a force to fight back against fires. The Japanese believed that the only way to put out their fires is with rain that had been presented by the kami. This is why "rain" at the time was referred to as "tensui" or "heaven water." This story truly shows the spirit and culture behind Japanese religion and faith.
- source : sanpai-japan.com/2016 -


::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::

- reference : 御府内八十八 来福寺 -
- reference : 御府内八十八 正光院 -

::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::

- Koya San in Wakayama 和歌山 高野山 -

- Kobo Daishi Kukai 弘法大師 空海 (774 - 835) -

. Gyoki Bosatsu 行基菩薩 (668 - 749) Saint Gyōki .

. Shikoku Henro Temple List 四国遍路  .

. Gofunai 御府内八十八ヶ所霊場 Pilgrimage to 88 Henro Temples in Edo .
- Introduction -

::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::



. Join the Updates of Facebook ! .

::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::

. Japan - Shrines and Temples - ABC .

. Welcome to Edo 江戸 ! – The Edopedia .

[ . BACK to DARUMA MUSEUM . TOP . ]
[ . BACK to WORLDKIGO . TOP . ]
- - - - - @edopilgrims #edohenro #raifukuji #shokoin - - - - -
::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::

--
Posted By Gabi Greve to Gokuraku - Jigoku on 1/18/2017 01:36:00 pm

12 Feb 2017

EDO - Gofunai temples 22 and 23

[ . BACK to DARUMA MUSEUM TOP . ]
. Gofunai 御府内八十八ヶ所霊場 88 Henro Temples in Edo .
::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::

Nr. 22 - Nanzooin 南蔵院 Nanzo-In

- 天谷山 Tengokuzan 南蔵院 Nanzo-In 竜福寺 Ryufuku-Ji
新宿区箪笥町42 / 42 Tansumachi, Shinjuku ward
Shingon Sect : 豊山派



This temple was founded in 1615 by 正胤法印 priest Masatsugu on behalf of 牛込勝重 Ushigome Katsushige, the lord of Ushigome Castle.
The main statue is 千手観世音菩薩 Kannon with 1000 arms.

In the beginning there were two statues of 弁財天 Benzaiten in two sanctuaries.
In 1681, the 上宮 Upper Sanctuary had to be relocated and was then re-named. The other statue of Benten was relocated to temple 宗参寺 and gave rise to the district named 弁天町 Benten-Cho.
In the Edo period, people who made weapons (at that time called tansu 箪笥) begun to live close to the temple.
The present main hall was erected in 1984.

.......................................................................

- ご詠歌 - chant of the temple 平等寺 Byodo-Ji in Shikoku :
平等にへだてのなきと聞く時は あらたのもしき仏とぞみる
Byōdō ni hedate no naki to kiku toki wa ara tanomoshiki hotoke to zo miru



- 朱印 - stamp of the temple :


- Homepage of the temple
- source : tesshow.jp/funai88


南蔵院歓喜天堂 Hall for Kankiten

. Kankiten (Kangiten) 歓喜天, Shooten 聖天 Ganesh.

. Introduction of Kannon Bosatsu .

.......................................................................



..............................................................................................................................................

- - - - - #edohistory - - - - -

Tansumachi 箪笥町 / Koishikawa Gotansu Machi 小石川御箪笥町



- quote -
... in this case, tansu doesn't refer to furniture. It refers to weapons.
In the Edo Period the general term for the arms, armor, and ordnance of the shōgunate was 箪笥 tansu.

In 1713, this area was entrusted to a local magistracy and a 町 machi town was developed. The original name of the town was 牛込御箪笥町 Ushigome go-tansu machi. By the way, 御箪笥 go-tansu is the honorific term for 箪笥 tansu.

The title of the magistrate who oversaw the private arsenals of the shōgunate was tansu bugyō 簞笥奉行 Tansu Bugyo. His office managed the full sets of armor, bows and arrows, and lances of the shōgunate. The people who worked under this office weren't only in charge of weapons, though.
The broad office title of 御納戸役 o-nandoyaku store room service referred to the mid-level samurai who would fetch and file and take inventory and maintain the clothes, supplies and furniture of the shōgunal family. They might also do the day to day work of managing the transactions of the shōgunal coffers. When gifts had to be given to lords or foreign emissaries, these were the samurai clerks who made it happen.
Whether the magistrate or the warehouses themselves were in this area isn't really important. The name derives from the fact that dormitories, 武家屋敷長屋 buke yashiki nagaya long houses, and the homes of other officials associated with this type of work were based here. So while this name is confusing to us now, in the Edo Period it was a way of designating what work and what class of samurai were living in the area.
A samurai clerk of this level would make a stipend of 100-200 koku.
- source : japanthis.com/2013... -


春立つやぶらり牛込箪笥町
haru tatsu ya burari Ushigome Tansumachi

spring begins -
I take a leisurely walk in Ushigome
Tansumachi town


赤瀬川昌彦 Akasegawa Masahiko

. tansu 箪笥 / 簞笥 -- たんす chest of drawers .


::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::


Nr. 23 - 薬研堀不動院 Yagenbori Fudo-In

- 川崎大師東京別院 Kawasaki Daishi Tokyo Betsu-In
中央区東日本橋2-6-8 / 2 Chome-6-8 Higashinihonbashi, Chūō ward
Shingon Sect : 智山派



This temple was founded in 1585 by 大印僧都 Daiin Sozu.
The main statue is Tsuzura Fudo Myo-O 葛籠不動明王 "Fudo in a wicker box".
This is one of the Three Great Fudo Statues of Edo 江戸三大不動.

The Fudo statue had been carved by the venerable priest
. 興教大師覚鑁 Kogyo Daishi Kakuban (1095 - 1143) .
at the temple 根来寺 Negoro-Ji in Wakayama.
Priest Daiin had packed this statue in a wicker box and carried it all the way to Kanto after Toyotomi Hideyoshi had burned the temple Negoro-Ji in 1585. He found this place suitable and built a temple for the statue.
After many ups and downs, in 1892, this temple became a special temple to 真言宗智山派大本山川崎大師平間寺 Kawasaki Daishi Heiken-Ji.

. Kawasaki Daishi 川崎大師 .
Founded in 1128, it is the headquarters of the Chizan sect of Shingon Buddhism.



江戸名所図会 Edo Meisho Zue - Yagenbori and Fudo Temple

.......................................................................

- ご詠歌 - chant of the temple 薬王寺 Yakuo-Ji . in Shikoku :
皆人のやみぬる年の薬王寺 るりの薬をあたへまします
Mina hito no yaminuru toshi no Yakuōji ruri no kusuri o ataemashimasu


. 医王山 Iozan 無量寿院 Muryoju-In 薬王寺 Yakuo-Ji .

.......................................................................

- 朱印 - stamp of the temple :


- Homepage of the temple
- source : kawasakidaishi.com/about

- Also part of the following pilgrimages:
. 関東三十六不動 36 Fudo Temples in Kanto . - Nr. 21.

.......................................................................


source : yumechigai.exblog.jp...

葛籠不動明王 Tsuzura Fudo Myo-O "in a wicker box"
. Fudō Myō-ō, Fudoo Myoo-Oo 不動明王 Fudo Myo-O
Acala Vidyârâja - Vidyaraja – Fudo Myoo .



. Three Most Famous Fudo 三大不動尊 in Japan .

.......................................................................



..............................................................................................................................................

- - - - - #edohistory - - - - -

Yagenbori 薬研堀 "Yagen Canal" in Edo

CLICK for more photos Yagen is a chemist's or doctor's mortar form which is like a V, deep and small, to crush medicine. The canals in Edo were often in this form.

Yagen Shichimi Togarashi - special red pepper from Yagenbori
Yagenbori in Edo is in Asakusa, an old center of entertainment.
A medicine dealer of the area (Yagenbori), more than 400 years ago, began to mix these ingredients to serve as condiments to go with noodles and other Edo food. It can be mixed to be very hot, medium or rather mild.
Reference


CLICK for more YAGEN photos
Yagen red pepper containers

. shichimi toogarashi 七味唐辛子 "seven flavors and red pepper" .

.......................................................................


source : mfa Boston Museum

Temple of Fudô at Yagenbori (Yagenbori Fudôson やけんぼり 不動尊)
Utagawa Kunisada I (Toyokuni III) (1786 – 1864)

::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::

- reference : 御府内八十八 南蔵院 -
- reference : 御府内八十八 薬研堀不動院 -
- reference : yagenbori fudo -

::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::

This is the end of the first part of the Shikoku Pilgrimage to 23 temples
阿波(徳島)発心の道場 -- hosshin awakening - Tokushima Awa



. Shikoku Henro Temple List 四国遍路  .

::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::

- Koya San in Wakayama 和歌山 高野山 -

- Kobo Daishi Kukai 弘法大師 空海 (774 - 835) -

. Gyoki Bosatsu 行基菩薩 (668 - 749) Saint Gyōki .

. Gofunai 御府内八十八ヶ所霊場 Pilgrimage to 88 Henro Temples in Edo .
- Introduction -

::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::



. Join the Updates of Facebook ! .

::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::

. Japan - Shrines and Temples - ABC .

. Welcome to Edo 江戸 ! – The Edopedia .

[ . BACK to DARUMA MUSEUM . TOP . ]
[ . BACK to WORLDKIGO . TOP . ]
- - - - - @edopilgrims #edohenro #nanzoin #yagenborifudoin- - - - -
::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::

--
Posted By Gabi Greve to Gokuraku - Jigoku on 1/14/2017 02:11:00 pm

EDO - Gofunai temples 24 and 25


[ . BACK to DARUMA MUSEUM TOP . ]
. Gofunai 御府内八十八ヶ所霊場 88 Henro Temples in Edo .
::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::

From here starts the second part of the Shikoku Pilgrimage to 16 temples
土佐(高知)修行の道場 -- shugyo austerities - Kochi Tosa



. Shikoku Henro Temple List 四国遍路  .

::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::

Nr. 24 - Saishooji 最勝寺 Saisho-Ji

- 高天山 Kotenzan 大徳院 Daitoku-In  最勝寺 Saisho-Ji
新宿区上落合3-4-12 / 3 Chome-4-12 Kamiochiai, Shinjuku
Shingon Sect : 豊山派



This temple was probably founded in the Kamakura period on request of 北条時頼 Hojo Tokiyori (1227 - 1263)
It was revitalized around 1750 by 正等和尚 priest Shoto Osho (1703-1774), who's grave is at
Gofunai Temple 31, 多聞院 Tamon-In.
The main statue is 釈迦牟尼如来 Shakamuni Nyorai.
In the Edo period it was related to the shrines 中井御霊神社 and
下落合東山藤稲荷神社 Kami-Ochiai Higashiyama Fuji Inari Jinja.
After the Meiji restauration it was related to 内藤新宿花園神社 Naito Shinjuku Hanasono Jinja
with a Hall for Kobo Daishi at 三光院 Sanko-In.

In spring a famous shidarezakura 枝垂桜 hanging cherry tree decorates the compound.

.......................................................................

- ご詠歌 - chant of the temple 最御崎寺 Hotsumisaki-Ji in Shikoku :
明星の出でぬる方の東寺 暗き迷いはなどかあらまじ
Myōjō no idenuru kata no higashidera kurakimayoi wa nadoka aramashi


. 室戸山 Murotozan 明星院 Myosho-In 最御崎寺 Hotsumisaki-Ji / Shikoku .

.......................................................................

- 朱印 - stamp of the temple :


- Homepage of the temple
- source : tesshow.jp/shinjuku/temple...


. Introduction of Shaka Nyorai .

.......................................................................



..............................................................................................................................................

- - - - - #edohistory - - - - -



In the compound of the temple
. Shichifukujin 七福神 Seven Gods of Good Luck .


::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::


Nr. 25 - Choorakuji 長楽寺 Choraku-Ji

- 六所山 Rokujozan 長命院 Chomei-In 長楽寺 Choraku-Ji
日野市程久保8-49-1 (旧角筈村)/ 8 Chome-49-1 Hodokubo, Hino-shi, Tōkyō (former Tsunohazu village)
(close to Tama Dobutsu Koen 多摩動物公園 Tama Zoological Park)
Shingon Sect : 豊山派



This temple was founded in 1620 by 頼音和尚 Priest Raion.
The main statue is 不動明王 Fudo Myo-O. The statue has been brought to Japan from China by Kobo Daishi.
The Statue of Kobo Daishi is venerated as Yakuyoke Daishi 厄除大師 Daishi to protect from evil influence and disaster.

The temple was first erected in 1620 on behalf of the governor 渡辺与兵衛 Watanabe Yohei as a huge compound with many buildings, at Tsunohazu.
Shogun 徳川家綱 Tokugawa Ietsuna (1641 - 1680) on his way to pray at the shrine 大国魂神社 Okunitama Jinja. When he passed here, he stopped and wrote the name Rokujozan with his own pen.
The temple was lost in the Second World War and relocated to its present place in 1960. It was a long-lasting reconstruction, now including the buildings
本堂 Main Hall, 阿弥陀堂Amida hall, 鎮守 Hall for the Regional Kami deity,
地蔵堂 Jizo Hall (with a kosodate Jizo 子育て地蔵 to pray for the upbringing of children),
事務所 temple office, 鐘楼 bell tower, 客殿 guest hall , 庫裡 temple kitchen and others.
The temple is a sub-temple of 長谷寺(奈良県)Hasedera in Nara.

. 大国魂神社 Okunitama Jinja .
rokusho matsuri 六所祭 "festival at six places"

.......................................................................

- ご詠歌 - chant of the temple 津照寺 Shinsho-Ji in Shikoku :
法の舟入るか出るかこの津寺 迷うわが身をのせてたまえや
Nori no fune iru ka izuru ka kono Tsudera mayou wagami o nosete tamae ya


.......................................................................

- 朱印 - stamp of the temple :



shiawase kozoo しあわせ小僧 a young acolyte to bring happiness

To become happy, the pilgrim has to stand in front of the statue and adjust his hands in prayer
so that the wrinkles of the hands (shiwa 皺) meet (awase 合わせ).
This is a pun with shiwa awase - shiawase.

- Homepage of the temple
- source : tesshow.jp/tama/hino

.......................................................................



Jizo Bosatsu on the slope up to the temple.

.......................................................................



..............................................................................................................................................

- - - - - #edohistory - - - - -

Utagawa Hiroshige (1797-1858) was fond of 角筈 Tsunohazu:


角筈熊野十二社 Tsunohazu Kumano Junisha 12 Shrines



The Kumano Shrine and the Pond of the Twelve Shrines at Tsunohazu in Yotsuya
(Yotsuya Tsunohazu Jûnisô ike Kumano yashiro



::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::

- reference : 御府内八十八 最勝寺 -
- reference : 御府内八十八 長楽寺 -

::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::

- Koya San in Wakayama 和歌山 高野山 -

- Kobo Daishi Kukai 弘法大師 空海 (774 - 835) -

. Gyoki Bosatsu 行基菩薩 (668 - 749) Saint Gyōki .

. Shikoku Henro Temple List 四国遍路  .

. Gofunai 御府内八十八ヶ所霊場 Pilgrimage to 88 Henro Temples in Edo .
- Introduction -

::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::



. Join the Updates of Facebook ! .

::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::

. Japan - Shrines and Temples - ABC .

. Welcome to Edo 江戸 ! – The Edopedia .

[ . BACK to DARUMA MUSEUM . TOP . ]
[ . BACK to WORLDKIGO . TOP . ]
- - - - - @edopilgrims #edohenro #saishoji #chorakuji - - - - -
::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::

--
Posted By Gabi Greve to Gokuraku - Jigoku on 1/16/2017 01:35:00 pm

EDO - Tsukuda Shima Island


[ . BACK to DARUMA MUSEUM TOP . ]
. Famous Places and Powerspots of Edo 江戸の名所 .
::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::: 
Tsukudajima 佃島 / 佃嶌 The Island Tsukuda   
Chuo Ward, Tokyo 中央区東京

佃 refers to a cultivated rice field, but the area is better known for its special food preparation

. tsukudani つくだに (佃煮) simmering in sweetened soy sauce .
It has been used since olden times as a kind of food preserve. It started with the fishermen from Tsukuda island, who prepared the leftovers of fish in this way. They came originally from Settsu in the Osaka area and Shogun Tokugawa Ieyasu settled them at Tsukuda island.
The village head of Tsukuda village 佃村 in Settsu was 森孫右衛門 Mori Magoemon, who came with 32 of his fellow fishermen to Edo. The fishermen had helped Ieyasu make escape from the Osaka region after Oda Nobunaga killed himself in the Honnō-Jji incident.
Tsukudani 佃煮 soon became a speciality of Edo and Tokyo.


Buyoo Tsukudajima 武陽佃嶌 Tsukuda Island in Musashi Province
葛飾北斎 Katsushika Hokusai



- More details are here :
- source : adachi-hanga.com/ukiyo-e -

Tsukuda-jima in Edo, in Musashi Province (Buyô Tsukuda-jima),
from the series Thirty-six Views of Mount Fuji (Fugaku sanjûrokkei)

..............................................................................................................................................

- quote
Tsukuda-Shima
The boat slides smoothly up onto the sand beach of a small but bustling island. Tsukuda island is a low, sandy islet at the mouth of the Sumida river, which runs through the heart of Edo. Apart from a few patches of trees and small vegetable gardens, the entire island is occupied by a thriving village of fishermen and boat pilots, who make their living from the commerce of Edo Bay.

This island is located in an ideal spot for people who make their living from the sea. It is located right at the mouth of the Sumida river -- the largest waterway in Edo. From here, small boats can easily make their way up the river and through the network of canals to most of the neighborhoods in downtown Edo. To the south, deep water channels extend out into Edo bay. The docks of Shiba and Tsukiji are nearby, so large boats can anchor near the island as they wait to be unloaded.

The volume of goods brought into Edo is so large that no single port could possibly handle it. Although the most important cargoes are unloaded at the docks of Shiba, Tsukiji, Minato and Shinagawa, a lot of ships unload their cargoes directly onto small barges and takase-bune as they lie at anchor here, in the lee of Tsukuda island. The smaller boats then carry the goods through Edo's network of canals and waterways to small, riverside wharves, known as kashi.

Because of its location, Tsukuda island is a convenient spot for barges and small boats to stop while waiting for the large ships to start unloading. The beaches are almost always crowded with small boats, and the few chaya (teahouses) on the island are filled with customers chatting, gossipping and sipping their tea as they wait.

In addition to these visitors, the island is home to a thriving village of fishermen. The residents of Tsukuda island came to Edo in the mid-1600s at the request of Shogun Ieyasu. Edo needed to increase the supply of fish to the city, because its population was growing too fast for the existing fishermen to keep up with demand. To convince people to leave their homes in western Japan and move to Edo, the Shogun offered them the special right to fish anywhere in Edo Bay that they want. Entire villages of fishermen accepted the offer, and moved to Edo, establishing large villages in the "Edo-mae" area, including one on Tsukuda island and one on the other side of the Sumida river, in Fukagawa.

Although these fishermen are not allowed to sell their products to the Shogun and his court, they do supply a large share of the fish bought by average citizens. Edo Bay is a rich source of all kinds of seafood, and the fishermen of Tsukuda island have developed many different methods of catching each type. Solitary fish, such as tai (red snapper) are usually caught with a regular fishing line. Other fish can be caught the same way, but it is usually more effective to use nets.


shirauo ami 白魚網 large net for whitebait (Salanx microdon)
This catch was done from November till March.

The fishermen have developed a wide variety of different nets to catch different types of fish. Triangular nets on the end of long forked poles are used to catch fish that live in the mud at the bottom o the bay, such as hirame (flatfish) or tako (octopus). Small fish that swim in schools, for example iwashi (sardines), can be caught by just one person using a throwing net. But in order to catch larger fish, like saba (mackerel) and katsuo (bonito), the fishermen have to use huge nets, and work together in a group. Sometimes they use nets that are so big, they have to work in large groups, to haul the nets back in to shore.

Most of the fish can be caught right here in Edo Bay, but some of the largest types, such as maguro (tuna), can only be caught out in the open sea. Once in a while, fishing fleets will leave the bay for several days at a time to chase the huge schools of tuna. They may even attempt to catch a whale. When they are successful, these ocean expeditions can be very profitable. A big load of tuna or whale meat will bring a great price in the fishmarkets of Nihonbashi. However, fishing boats are not as well built as cargo ships; storms can blow up at any time out in the open ocean, so long trips to sea can be very risky. Even here in the Bay, life for most fishermen is difficult and dangerous.

Although fishing is the traditional work of the people from Tsukuda island, many of them have now taken new professions. Because of all the ships that anchor in this area to unload their cargoes, there is always demand for experienced boat pilots, who can transport goods from the large, seagoing vessels to the canal-side markets in different parts of the city. Other people work in the city, transporting people from place to place by boat -- as a sort of a "water taxi driver".
- source : Edomatsu



佃沖 晴天の不二 Off Tsukuda - Mount Fuji in clear weather
歌川国芳 Utagawa Kuniyoshi (1797 - 1861)

:::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::



:::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::

- - - - - H A I K U and S E N R Y U - - - - -

月影やここ住よしの佃島
tsukikage ya koko Sumiyoshi no Tsujidajima

this moonlight -
here at Sumiyoshi Shrine
at Tsukuda Island

Tr. Gabi Greve

. Takarai Kikaku 宝井其角 (1661 – 1707) / 榎本其角 Enomoto Kikaku .


Tsukuda, Sumiyoshi Shrine 住吉神社


Kawase Hasui 川瀬 巴水 (1883-1957)
- Honolulu Museum of Art -

- quote -
Tsukudajima
is on the opposite side of Nishinaka Dori from the Tsukishima Subway Station. Fishermen in Tsukuda Village, Settsu (the current name is Nishiyodogawa-ku, Osaka City) moved to Tsukudajima under orders from Tokugawa Ieyasu in 1644, and developed the area they had been moved to. As nothing remains the same for long in Tokyo, it has been developed rapidly over recent years but older houses that escaped both the 1923 quake and the infamous air raid remain standing, sandwiched in between enormous skyscrapers.
Shumiyoshi Shrine
is related to the Sumiyoshi Shrine in Osaka. When fishermen from Tsukuda Village in Osaka moved here, they divided the enshrined spirit and established this branch with the part transported to the Kanto region.
Local residents, fishermen and those who work on water often visit the shrine to pray for their safety when at sea.
- source : att-japan.net/en/city -


- reference : tsukuda sumiyoshi shrine -


. Sumiyoshi Jinja 住吉神社 Sumiyoshi Shrines of Japan .
Sumiyoshi Grand Shrine 住吉大社 Sumiyoshi Taisha in Osaka

..............................................................................................................................................

名月や佃を越せば寒うなる
山店 芭蕉庵小文庫

銀河立つ佃に晦き舟だまり
古舘曹人

:::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::



- - - To join me on facebook, click the image !

:::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::

. Japanese Architecture - Interior Design - The Japanese Home .

. Famous Places and Powerspots of Edo 江戸の名所 .

. Doing Business in Edo - 商売 - Introduction .

. shokunin 職人 craftsman, craftsmen, artisan, Handwerker .

. senryu, senryū 川柳 Senryu poems in Edo .

. densetsu 伝説 Japanese Legends - Introduction .


[ . BACK to DARUMA MUSEUM TOP . ]
[ . BACK to WORLDKIGO . TOP . ]- - - - - #tsukuda #tsukudani - - - -
::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::

--
Posted By Gabi Greve to Edo - the EDOPEDIA - on 10/26/2015 09:54:00 am